Seasons 25


Released: September 16 2022, digipak with 16-page colour booklet

12 tracks, running time 64 minutes

Delivery time: 1 - 3 days

Category: Tag:

Released: September 16 2022, digipak with 16-page colour booklet

12 tracks, running time 64 minutes

01. The Jewel City 5:51
02. Footprints In The Sand 3:36
03. In All Ways And Always 8:16
04. Follow The Empress 5:14
05. Seasons (Acoustic Version) 5:23
06. Antigone’s Lament And Triumph 6:28
07. Let It Be Gone (Don’t Bother) 4:16
08. Interior Monologue 5:48
09. Evening Solace 3:22
10. Supersonic Man 4:44
11. Never Again 10:05
12. The Jewel City … (Reprise) 0:47

Flying Circus – “Seasons 25”: Back to the future

“Seasons” is an old album. With their 1997 debut, the German band FLYING CIRCUS from Grevenbroich (somewhere between Düsseldorf and Cologne) immediately became an insider tip for all lovers of classic rock music between hard rock and progressive rock. Enthusiastic reviews flooded in from all corners of the world, and that hasn’t changed with the seven additional releases that the band now has under their belt; both the excellent reviews and the status of FLYING CIRCUS as an insider tip – until last year, when the band’s “best of” album suddenly found itself at number 14 in the German album charts for metal and rock and stayed in the hit list for a whopping 10 weeks.

Since then, the band has received significantly more media attention, and so Michael Dorp / vocals, Michael Rick / guitar, Rüdiger Blömer / keyboards and violin, Roger Weitz / bass and Ande Roderigo / drums decided to rewind the band’s history for all newcomers to the band and to completely re-record the 12 original tracks contained on “Seasons” for the album’s anniversary 25 years after its release.

And in this process, the band took all liberties: Instead of just adapting the song arrangements to the current FLYING CIRCUS line-up and instrumentation, the five musicians treated the initial tracks as if they were new musical ideas that still had to be fully developed: Some songs are now in a different key and/or have new parts added and others left out, most of the pieces were tightened up or even (in the case of the ballad “Follow the Empress”) saw the singer changed (drummer Ande Roderigo instead of main singer Michael Dorp).

The result of this exciting experiment presents the five musicians audibly matured and each individual as a virtuoso in his respective profession, while all the 12 pieces sound incredibly fresh – not only because of the powerful, contemporary production, but above all because of the band’s infectious joy of playing that makes one thing utterly clear: “Seasons 25” is a NEW album. The separately available, elegant digipack of the new recording alone demonstrates this in a more than impressive way. In addition, a double CD pack adding in a remaster of the original recordings from 1997 as a bonus disc gives everyone the possibility of a direct comparison between yesterday and today.

close slider